Avasthas of planets vedic astrology

Peedita or Prapeedita Avastha — When planet lies between malefics Paapa kartari , in avarohi state. Vikala or Kupita Avastha — Planet in combust astangata or in planetary war or posited in 22nd drekkana. Bheeta or Atibheeta Fear Avastha — Planet in atichara or stambhana or occupying dustanas. Khala or Rikta Avastha — Planet occupying debilitation sign or deep debilitation point or in malefic vargas.

Lajjitadi avasthas are based on the position of the planets associated with other planets. There are six different avasthas under this group. Garvita Avastha — If a planet is in exaltation or Moolatrikona house then it is said to be in Garvitavastha. Kshudhit Avastha — Planet will be in enemy rasi or conjunct with enemy, or aspected by an enemy, or if it is in conjunction with Saturn. Trushit Avastha — Here planet will be posited in a watery sign and is aspected by a malefic planet without any aspect from a benefic.

Kshobhit Avastha — Planet is in conjunction with Sun and is either aspected by or in conjunction with an inimical planet. Sayanadi avasthas are based on the position of the planets on various nakshatras or constellations. Note the number of the star occupied by a planet for which the avastha has to be calculated.

I. Baladi-Avasthas or Physical States

If it is Aswini -1, Bharani — 2, Kritika — 3 and so on. Multiply that number by the number denoted by the planet 1 for Sun, 2 for Moon, 3 for Mars, 4 for Mercury, 5 for Jupiter, 6 for Venus 7 for Saturn. The resulting number should again be multiplied by the number of navamsas, where the planet is posited.

  • Primary Sidebar?
  • january 22 2020 solar eclipse astrology meaning.
  • Contributors;

Add number of the birth star nakshatra in which Moon is posited to the above figure 1 for Aswini, 2 for Bharani etc. The resulting number should be divided by The remainder of the calculation will indicate the corresponding avastha of the planet. Divide this product by The resulting remainder should be further increased by constant additives of the planet. The resulting product should be divided by 3. If the remainder is 1, it is called as Drishti, if it is 2 then Chesht and if 0 then it is Vichesht. Tags: avastha Avasthas of Planets condition of planets planetary state.

Your email address will not be published. Astrology 0.

Avastha (Hindu astrology)

Avasthas of Planets Avastha is the Sanskrit word which means status or condition. Krsita - When planets are in watery sign, not receiving dristi form any beneffic but aspecting malefic. Mudita - When planets are associated or aspected by friendly planets or aspected by functional beneffic planets , yogakaraka planets etc. Kshobhita - Yuti with sun or aspected by sun or associated with maleffic and no beneffic dristi.

Dipta - When planets is in its exaltation rasi Svastha - When a planet is in own rasi Mudita - When a planet is in great friend rasi Santa - When a planet is in friendly rasi Dina - When a planet is in netrual rasi Dukhita - When a planet is in enemy rasi Vikala - When a planet is associated with maleffic planet Khala - When a planet is in great enemy rasi Kopa - When a planet is closely combusted. Sayanadi avastha is the most complicated method to study always.

There is a mathematical calculation we should know before we know the effects of sayanadi avastha of planets. Which I am discussing below.

Swastha or Own House

Using the resulting number as the avastha index and referring to table given above, we find out the avastha of the planet. Shayanaadi — condition of activity. Baaladhi This state reflects the maturity of the planet and there are five kinds listed in the table below. The planet that falls in the first six degrees of an odd sign is called a Bala childlike. The table below shows the states of the planets in different degrees and signs.

Part 1 - Ryan Kurczak on "Avasthas of Rahu and Ketu"

Note that the results are reversed for even signs. Mercury yields good results always. This condition shows the general alertness of the planet and there are three types. When a planet in own sign or exaltation is known as a Waker or Jagrit. In the waking state, the planet is fully aware of the physical, mental and emotional world and its working.

Vedic Astrology: Avastha of Planets in a horoscope - State of the Planets

A planet in dream state or Swapna avastha is highly emotional and lives in the reality that is projected by circumstances and its mind. It is natural that planet is not useful for acquiring material possessions. This avastha reflects the status or the dignity of the planets and there are 9 kinds in total.

This states takes into consideration its position within house. The planets have high ideals and are mostly working in a satvic state. In the Middle three categories, planets are set to exhibit Madhyama Guna which is more Rajasic and self-centred. In the last three, they exhibit Adhama Guna which is very tamasic and not good for society.


Naturally before concluding and making predictions, one would look at the natural and temporal friendships, conjunctions and aspects. This avastha reflects the mood of the planet. The various conditions and the results are summarised below. Particular attention needs to be paid to any of the planets placed in inauspicious states in the 10th, 7th and 5th houses. This avastha relates to the condition of various activities. These are arrived at by carrying out calculations that involve taking into account the serial number of planet, of the nakshatra it is in, the navamsha it is in, the ishta gathi of the person who we are doing the calculations for.

The various states are described below. For understanding the method of calculation as well as details of the results of each planet in all the conditions, readers are advised to refer to BHPS Chapter 47 Shlokas I have summarised them below in a table.